21 May Vautier Cup results

Full results from the 54th Vautier Cup is here:21 May Vautier Cup 2016

Vautier Cups were introduced in 1963. In that first year the winner of the Senior Mens race was Roger Woodruffe, who lined up again this year 54 years later. The winner for the second year in a row was Andy Martin.

Presenting trophies was host and past top Moa runner, Reg Vautier. It was a pleasant surprise to find the winner of the Boys cup was none other than his grandson Matt McKenzie.

The Open Handicap format gave everyone a chance of taking home the silverware and there were many close finishes with the last 500 metres of downhill generating good speed. For example, in the Girls race Taryn Backhouse just caught Angelia James on the line to win. We were fortunate that overnight thunderstorms eased off in time for the racing and didn’t see the ford across the creek to the woolshed rise too high (for a little while i was wondering we might all get in but maybe end up stuck at the woolshed for the night if it rose too high!)

Vautier Cup Winners

Boys 2.5km: Matt Mackenzie.   fastest time: Liam Wall 10:22

Girls 2.5km: Taryn Backhouse.  fastest time: Bella Ives 11:41

Junior women 5km: Tessa Webb & fastest time of  21;14

Colts 5km: Luke Scott.  fastest time Benjamin Wall 20:30

Junior men 5km: Darren Hirschberg & fastest time of 22:05

Women 5km: Lindy Purdy.  fastest time Juanita Paterson 24:13

Men 10km:  Andy Martin.   fastest time AJ Cornwall 42:23

Next Feilding Moa event is a pack run at Mt Lees Reserve, Ngaio Rd at 1.30pm on 28th May

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment