Feilding marathon – Announcing 3 more Trophy winners

Hi all, Congratulations of your great effort at Feilding yesterday!

 Those who were observant will have noticed three trophies remained on the table unannounced yesterday.  I needed to do some background calcs to award accurately. That’s now done and  I’m pleased to announce the following Trophy winners, who will have their names engraved on the Trophies

Feilding Hotel Trophy for best Age Adjusted Marathon Mens time: Nicholas Bagnall in 2:57:52
And would you believe that Scott Whitley was only 2 seconds behind on adjustment !
Ray Barnett Cup for best Age adjusted Marathon womens time: Mignon Stevenson 3:15:35
Presidents Cup for first Manawatu resident in the Marathon: Brett Clayton 3:26:12
Congratulations Nicholas, Mignon and Brett!
Age adjustment uses internationally recognised calculation tables to adjust performance based on Age, with factor of 1 more or less up to Age 30, then a sliding scale of adjustments. Full age adjusted results can be found HERE: 2017 age adjusted marathon result
Other Trophy Winners
Kohiti Trophy for Women Run: Ingrid Frost
Sir Matthew Oram Cup for Men Run: Carl Laffan
Ken Walton Cup for Mens walk: Joff Hulbert
Caryll Clausen Plate for Womens Walk: Denise Brunskill
Trevor Ludeman Cup for three-person Club team: Feilding Moa (Scott Whitley, Debra Arnold, Pat Stichbury)
Leahy Cup for Walk team: Manawatu Striders (Davids Cushing & Jones, Denice Brunskill)
M. Scott Trophy for first Feilding Moa club member in the Half Marathon: Darren Parlato

The 63rd Feilding Marathon has been a happy hunting ground for Ingrid Frost of Auckland YMCA winning the Kohiti Trophy for the seventh time since 2004. Her time was 4:02:40 from the Wanganui pair of Nicky Scott 4:10:39 and Mignon Stevenson 4:21:48. Her time was slower than usual due to having completed nine previous marathons in the past two weeks, including eight in eight days in Australia.

Wainuiomata’s Carl Laffan, picked up his third win in the event on Saturday in 3 hours 10 minutes 36 seconds. Laffan has previously won in 2012 and 2016 and this year was his fastest time at Feilding by nearly 9 minutes. Laffan trailed Feilding Moa’s Scott Whitley throughput the first 25km of the race, but was always in touch and finished the stronger with Whitley taking second in 3:13:28 and Nicholas Bagnall of Wellington in third place in 3:15:06.

The Marathon walk was won by Joff Hulbert of Napier in 4:48:45 from last years winner David Cushing and David Jones (both of Manawatu Striders). Denise Brunskill, also from Manawatu Striders retained her title, finishing in 5:28:50.
Race organiser Rob Dabb was pleased with the turnout of 326 entrants across the various events, up 20 percent on the previous year.

The Trevor Ludeman Cup for three person run teams was won by Feilding Moa, with the counting team being Scott Whitley, Debra Arnold and Pat Stichbury. Manawatu Striders team of Cushing, Jones and Brunskill won the Leahy Cup for walking teams.

The 21st Roy Lamberton Half Marathon was won by Edward Currie of Palmerston North in 1:21:04 from Dylan Welby (Levin) and Arne Patterson (Palmerston North). Wilma Minnee of Palmerston North won the womens race in 1:40:10 from Bridget Harris (Wanganui) and Joanne Shortall (Feilding). The Half Marathon walks were won by Taranaki visitors, Alan Clarke in 2:18:26 and Sherryn Hardy 2:24:32.

The 10km run was a win to 15 year old Feilding Moa athlete Benjamin Wall in 37 minutes 20 seconds from Angus McKelvie 38:12. Mckelvie, winner of the recent Hunterville Shemozzle, shadowed Wall for the first 5-6km until the pace stepped up and Wall was able to extend to a healthy lead. Sarah Davison won the womens 10km in 50:45 Hannah Colliver (Bulls). The walks went to Manawatu Striders members Evan Davies in 1:07:55 and Darryl James 1:09:46.

Closest finish of the day came in the 5km race, where Jimmy Ellingham just edged in front of Feilding Moa’s Liam Wall by three seconds in 18:54. Fellow club member Reuben Duker was third. Another Feilding Moa member, Bella Ives won the female section in 22:34. The 5km walk was won in good style by yet another young Moa in Alex Willis in a great time of 38:18.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment